Used Car Dealer - Wanting to improve

Matthew D'Andrea

Let me first start by saying that I am still very new to this business.  Im 31, with no college education and self-taught on everything ive done in my life, so I know that I may not be doing things the "typical" way.  I just got into car sales back in 2010 and opened my own dealership with a partner exactly 2 years ago.  We started off tiny, with just paying for space as we sold cars.  6 months later we moved and opened a small lot doing strictly BHPH.  Once we realized that you need to have a very large piggy bank of capital, we quickly moved to Sub-Prime financing.  Exactly 1 year ago we moved to a larger lot, where we are currently.  It was a former New Car dealer back in the 90's and is plenty big enough for us to grow over the next 5-10 years and could potentially hold up to 150 cars+.  Right now we currently use floorplan for our vehicle purchasing, roughly $500k (which is very expensinve around 35% per year after fees/interest, but we dont have to put my house up as collateral)  We have anywhere from 55-60 cars up on the lot at any given time, 25-35 up front ready to go, 10-15 being recondition & another 10-15 pending funding at an average cost of $9000 per unit (2008-2014, 120k an less, etc).  We sell anywhere from 45-55 units per month, turning the 25-35 on the front lot almost twice.  We are making an average of $2100 gross per unit.  I spend roughly $15,000 per month on advertising (google adwords, facebook, website, craigslist, etc) and getting A LOT of traction.  We have a poorly made website from, and are receiving around 300-400 unique NEW vistors to the website per day per google analytics.  I have myself (Owner, GM, F&I,  Buyer of inventory) my partner (sales manager), 3 sales reps, and 1 internet sales person.  I know that with the customers im getting, I could sell upwards of 65-70 cars per month without have any more incremental overhead.  Im currently redoing my website with dealereprocess