BDC Benchmarks-A Wider Sample of Averages

Anthony Sadosky

I have been working in BDC for just short of a decade. I am now an Internet Manager. I am familiar with several schools of thought on different benchmarks for a BDC. I would like to see if I can get more of a handle on how different dealers, BDC Managers, Internet Managers, and the like actually measure success for their department.

I myself came from a centralized BDC Environment. We had 8 brands, two physical locations, a team of 4 and a team of 3 for either locale, taking in all inbound calls, leads, the ability to jump into live chat, and a responsibility to data-mine Service, Equity, and Lease Retention Customers, on a weekly or daily basis, as well as the responsibility to do showroom follow-up on walk-ins if Sales Teams did not. Each Team member was allotted roughly 300 fresh leads/mo. and would answer an average of 125-250 inbound per month. Our daily requirements were something like this: 80-100 Calls (they included inbound calls (which we have decided not to send to BDC for now due to training) texts in that for a while but then regressed, however i personally believe that you should include them or at least subtract from total calls for a texting benchmark),  60+ emails, 40 contacts, 8-10 appointments.

Currently, until we progress, I am a one man show in charge of all inbound internet leads as well as other managerial and supervisory responsibilities, until such time as I build a team of 2-3. I have another one man show working on all Service, Equity, and Lease Retention Customers. The salesfloor is still answering phone-ups (however, it will soon be changed).

Since beginning work, at this dealership in this new role as a Manager, it seems I have been physically/mentally feeling as though I do as much if not more than I did at a Centralized BDC as a Lead BDR. My results are interesting. So far, I have increased INTERNET SALES by a factor of 2 and total sales under the rooftop are up 29-30%.