BDC vs. Sales Reps

Morgan Hardy

Do your BDC agents get along with your sales reps and sales managers? In my experience, the BDC gets a lot of backlash and blame for unsuccessful leads, which can then cause friction between the departments. Has anyone else had a similar experience and how have you handled it?

John H

There's a lot of moving parts in a dealership.. and conflict makes gears bind! Accountability and measurement speak dividends.

If your BDC isn't processing very many appointments from leads, it's likely your BDC lacks talent. Similar principle if your sales staff aren't producing many sales from appointments.

If both statistics are abnormally low, begin tracking EVERY action (phone calls, lead workflow, passoff, ect). If you don''t find a bottleneck there, reevaluate your lead source.

Friction normally doesn't occur for no reason.

Joel Davis

Hi Morgan, I’ve been running our Centralized Sales BDC for a little over 7 years now.  There will always be a little friction between the BDC and the Sales Teams....  one way we’ve been able to overcome this, is simply by communication, and holding both departments accountable.  Our BDC is an extension of our Sales teams, however both departments are on equal ground.  Our BDC works leads regardless if it is a successful shown appointment or sold... The difference is... we give visibility to all leads to our sales teams.  So they too are accountable and have a responsibility to work the opportunity, as does the BDC.  We have been very successful over the years with not necessarily equally distributing leads to our sales teams, but working with those sales consultants that work and see the opportunity that the BDC provides to them and the dealership overall....