Follow Up

Nadina J.

I've been an internet manager at my dealership for 3+ years. I have revamped my best practices, etc. I am curious about how each manager handles follow up, accountability and motivating staff.

My staff can be less than motivated to call customers as I am in an extremely competitve market area. We do not have a BDC and I average ~500 leads/month from my website and 3rd parties (cars, autotrader, cargurus, truecar, etc). I average a closing ratio of 9-10% which is mediocre. I am trying to take it to the next level but am stalled by many obsticles.

I need an efficient way to review leads, follow up with sales staf and accountability while handling all facets of the internet and training new staff.

Thanks!

Ricky Patrick

I think all of your issues can be fixed by effectively using a good CRM. Set up some follow-up schedules that you can live with and then validate that your reps are completing their daily work plan and making appropriate notes. Most CRMs have a report you can print that facilitates validating their follow-up calls and you can see their emails to the customers.

Michael Bilson

Conversica

Eduardo Aragon

Hi Nadina J., I think the solution to your problem is a change in the culture of your team. 

What do I mean by that? Simply stated, if following up is important to you (which it should be, of course!) your team needs to buy in to that importance or get off your squad. 

Here's a few team tools I have benefitted from, both physical and conceptual:

1.) Team Lead Review: having each teammate write out your top 20 leads each monday and review where they're at in the process with you for 20 minutes on monday and then again on friday morning.

2.) Nightly progress report: have each teammate write you an email before they go off shift with their 5 hottest prospects, appointments for the next day and 1 thing you need to do for them to ensure their success.