High Down Payment Lease Offers

Chris K.

So I've been leasing cars to folks since 1999 and most people only put $500-$1500 down. I'm struggling with my Sales Manager who is picking the ads to put on the website and he's weak I think in the GUTS area. They think beating the competitor's ad by $10 is enough to draw people in. Problem is the ad is for over $3000 down plus fees, on last years model. We have new 2018's in better supply and can show less down? We all know NOBODY puts $5000 down on a lease, in fact we tell people NOT to put a lot of money down when they are here, but why run these ads? I'd rather run ads with ZERO down + fee's or run a true sign & drive with really no money. It's this type of advertising that annoys me most about car dealers. Where is the common sense or do we all still want to lead the customers down a road they know is too good to be true. We are experts at starting at MSRP and then working them until they are worn out. Not sure if you all are doing that?

Chris K Leslie

I understand his login but the problem with that is that they don't really understand that it's going to bite you guys in the ass when it comes to reviews and referral business down the road. It's not worth it. 

Jason Stum

Not sure how it is in your market Chris K (not the Leslie one lol), but here in the Detroit Market leasing is HUGE and has been for decades. Allow me to play devil's advocate here for a second. Even in a market like mine where leasing is prevalent. Even after all these years, shoppers still seem to have blinders on when it comes to the terms of the lease. They only see the PAYMENT on the website or in the ad, and never bother to look at the fine print.

So in defense of your sales manager, I can see why he's structuring those lease deals the way he is. If a lease savvy market like mine doesn't pay attention to the details, I can only imagine it's no different anywhere else.