Is BDC a dying breed?

Mandie Baker

I have heard from multiple dinosaurs that BDC is just an expense.  It is a battle I have been fighting for about 8 years now.  Numbers always tell the story, as long as they are not fabricated I guess.  But anyhow....with web buy and digital platforms available, salesmen believe they should be handling any and everything web based.  I'm from Ny and upstate at that. Traffic mainly comes from my team. Just curious to see what the rest of the world thinks. 

Bart Wilson

Interesting question. I'm wondering if we are seeing a convergence between the modern sales floor and a BDC. Just a thought.

I also feel there is a ton of value in a BDC to help with Fixed Operations. Does your team just handle sales or do you work with service as well?

Chris K Leslie

They aren't wrong BDC is an expense its payroll and all payroll is an expense. Payroll is the single highest expense in a dealership which includes Lot Lizards. Everyone is in the same boat. 

Derrick Woolfson