What is an Internet Dept?

Amanda Gordon

IN 2002 when I started in this industry, our internet dept consisted of one guy setting Costco apts and giving anyone who called in off of our website a $500 discount. In today's times with 95% + of customers doing their research online isn't EVERYONE an Internet customer? How does your store separate the leads?

Scott Larrabee

Not as well as they should, but I am sure this is a challenge for most BDC or "Internet" departments! ...and YES, EVERYONE is an internet customer it seems nowadays! 

Amanda Gordon

Scott do you believe that there is still a need for an "internet" dept, or should all sales associates be equipped with the tools to handle direct internet leads? 

Rachael DuVall

Amanda,  I am a BDC Manager/Internet Manager. We differentiate is by where the lead came from. So say someone inquires about a vehicle through your website, puts their info in that is an "Internet Lead" outsourced websites as well cars.com, cargurus, autotrader etc. My BDC handles ALL leads like that we make the appointment and hand them off to a sales person. 

In my experience, no amount of training and tools turns a sales person into a call rep. They want to try to sell the car over the phone instead of really gathering what the customer wants. 

In my dealership sales people are only allowed to handle customers face to face. My BDC even handles showroom ups that didnt buy. 

Derrick Woolfson