Marketing ideas from salespeople

I'm curious if any dealers have meetings with their sales team on a regular basis to get creative ideas for marketing campaigns? 

Why/Why not?  Thanks!

Kelly R.

I've been doing marketing for dealerships for a few years now. I have never spent a day on the floor selling cars. So, personally I think salespeople and sales managers are an awesome resource when I'm stalling for new ideas. Without actually interacting with the customers myself, I only know what I read online or hear from people I know that have bought cars. 

The salespeople get to hear customer concerns, questions and interests every single day. With that we can turn these questions and interests into marketing campaigns, blogs, social media posts, etc. We can fine tune our targeting techniques based on the type of people we see coming in the store quite often vs. who we want to see more of. The other day we filmed a short video of just our managers talking about lease-end options that I'm excited to get up on our site and social media. I think it will help people understand a process that might not be fully explained up front, before customers get into the dealership.

There's so much I don't know about the ins & outs of selling and F&I and I really appreciate the insight from my colleagues. On the other hand, salespeople may not know how much we can really do with digital marketing and all of the different resources we have. So having a good working relationship between the marketing managers and sales team is really a win-win for the dealership. I think the same process applies for fixed ops as well!

Brandin Wilkinson

Great topic Scott and completely agree with Kelly!

Brendan Dolan