Opening an independent dealership with repair shop

M Leindekar

Hello all and thank you for accepting me! I've been reading this forum for quite a while and I'm glad there are so many people in here willing to share experiences and help each other, I'll do my best to contribute whenever I can. In the past I have worked in retail and mid level managing and owned a small business but not related to cars. When I was younger I sold a few and found myself enjoying it and quite comfortable doing it. I'm very computer savvy, detail oriented, methodic and a DIY guy, I'm not a mechanic, just a car enthusiast but I know how to perform the basic stuff and what to look when buying a unit. That being said I have around 150 grand in savings to start something. I know many of you will be laughing at this point and I know that's not too much but I plan to start small, very small (not more than 5 or 7 cars and a bay to perform repairs and grow from there), the cars will be bought, not floored. If needed I'm willing not to get a salary for the first year. My plan is to sell cars no older than 12 years and with less than 130.000 miles, mostly small, mid size and SUV's. No luxury cars or trucks for now. I plan to hire a full time mechanic, a salesperson, a receptionist/clerk and a detailer. The city where I live has a pop of 35.000 that ascends to 80.000 more in surrounding areas (no big cities around). I already have a business plan in place and a monthly cash flow for the first 12 months. All expenses included I'll have an overhead of $18000/ month for both the dealership and the shop ($2000 of that is listed as a monthly cushion under "other expenses"). I've been looking to all the aspects I can think of from getting a lawyer, accountant, licensing, bond, insurance, dms, crm, on site marketing strategies, auctions, etc, etc, etc and reading A LOT. The thing is, I've been VERY conservative and pessimistic when doing the projections and still I see good numbers.